Wi-Fi Alliance Introduces Generational Wi-Fi Branding

Subscribe To Read This Insight

By Andrew Zignani | 4Q 2018 | IN-5273


Wi-Fi Alliance Rebrands Wi-Fi: It’s as Easy as 4, 5, 6


On October 3, 2018, the Wi-Fi Alliance introduced a new branding mechanism for both existing and upcoming Wi-Fi technologies. The new approach will replace the conventional IEEE task group extension names, e.g., 802.11n, 802.11ac, and 802.11ax, with a numerical sequence to represent each new generation of Wi-Fi standards. The new naming conventions are aimed at providing manufacturers, operators, and end users with a much easier to understand approach to the numerous available Wi-Fi standards and protocols, enabling them to clearly discover what Wi-Fi technologies are supported by a device, in addition to how that device is currently connecting to the existing Wi-Fi network. Examples of this new naming system include the following:  

  • Wi-Fi 6 to identify devices that support 802.11ax technology
  • Wi-Fi 5 to identify devices that support 802.11ac technology
  • Wi-Fi 4 to identify devices that support 802.11n technology

Strengthening the Wi-Fi Message   


You must be a subscriber to view this ABI Insight.
To find out more about subscribing contact a representative about purchasing options.